THE STONE HOUSE

This stone building has stood at the edge of the Little Elk Creek since the last quarter of the 18th century. A dendrochronology study indicates that the building was constructed in the 1780s, but felled timber dates back to the late 1600's. Archaeological reports, land records, and a charcoal drawing all show that a log structure stood to the right (north) of the Stone Building. This earlier structure may have been constructed by and served as the home of John Hans Steelman, a Swedish settler who traded with the local Native American tribes. Steelman arrived in the Elk Landing area in the late 1600s after migrating from Wilmington, Delaware. More archeological digs and research are needed to confirm this long-standing theory.
There is much speculation about how the Stone House was used over the centuries. A historic architect theorized that it was used for commercial purposes as well as a dwelling. Some say this commercial purpose may have been a tavern; however, no hard evidence has been found to confirm the theory.

In 2026 The Historic Elk Landing is working on getting quotes and information on how to stabilize the corner fireplace located on the first floor. Donations from the community go a long way in applying for grant money as it shows interest in saving this historic structure.
Come walk the grounds of The Historic Elk Landing and see the property and its splendor as a true gem in the county.

View Historic photos of the Stone House from the 1900's and of the rebuilding of the house in the early 2000's.




















